Disable validation security. If you clear the eeprom, you will lose all current settings. Try clearing RAM only and apply key chip to make the change.
Validation Security.
If enabled, the machine protects validation
information when communications with the validation system are
interrupted. When the validation buffer is full, the machine locks up and
displays VALIDATION BUFFER FULL. When the validation mode is set to
enhanced, the machine also locks up and displays VALIDATION NOT
CONFIGURED if the host has not enrolled the gaming machine. If the
validation security option is disabled, validation information may be lost.
From the Key Chip or Operator Menu, touch Comm. Options, IGT SAS,
and Validation Setup.